Home Gadget Bridge Ace How to reset your Android smartphone before you sell it

How to reset your Android smartphone before you sell it

Are you planning to sell your Android smartphone?

Buying a new smartphone is something that gets everyone excited. While doing enough research to buy the right offering based on our requirements is very essential, it is equally important to be sure that our old handset does not have any data. In most cases, people either choose to sell their old smartphones for a lesser value, give it to someone known for using it or use it for getting a good exchange offer on their new device. Whatever the case might be with you, you don’t want the new owner of your old smartphone to have access to your data. To make sure that they don’t, you need to reset your Android smartphone to its factory conditions before you give it away.

Although the process is a very simple one, an alarming number of people do not know how to do it. Here, we are stating all the steps that you need to follow in order to rest your Android smartphone to its factory settings. While the steps are written for Pixel 3a handset, they should be more or less the same for any other Android smartphone. Before you reset your device you must take a backup of all your data or transfer it to your new smartphone. Once your old Android smartphone has been reset to its factory conditions, there will be no way of retrieving the lost data.

Once you are ready though, you need to follow these steps to reset your Android smartphone to its factory condition:

  • Go to Settings.
  • Head to System > Advanced > Reset options.
  • You will now see three options: ‘Reset Wi-Fi, mobile & Bluetooth’, ‘Reset app preferences’ and ‘Erase all data (factory reset)’. Choose ‘Erase all data (factory reset)’ in order to delete all the data from your Android smartphone.
  • Once you choose the option, you will get a warning that all the data from your smartphone will be deleted and your accounts will be removed from the device too. Select the option of ‘Reset phone’ to go ahead with it.

clean smartphones

  • In case you have set a password on your device, you will be asked to enter that too.
  • You will then be asked again if you are sure you want to delete everything. Here, just press the option of ‘Erase everything’.
  • Once you do this, it will take two or three to reset your Android device to its factory settings.

For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date using the Gadget Bridge Android App.

Avani Baggahttps://www.gadgetbridge.com
Avani has an immense love for reading, travelling and food, but not necessarily in the same order. Avani almost started pursuing law, but life had other (better) plans for her and she chose to be a writer instead (luckily!) She previously covered technology at Times Internet and wrote about smartphones, mobile apps and tech startups. When she’s not writing, you’ll be able to find her in book stores or catching up on her social life.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Follow Us

128,994FansLike
9,580FollowersFollow
4,891FollowersFollow
4,900SubscribersSubscribe

Must Read

Xiaomi Mi Smart Band 3i

Xiaomi Mi Smart Band 3i launched today in India at Rs...

0
Xiaomi recently launched couple of smartphones in the country and now they are out with new Smart bands for fitness freaks. The company announced...