Every now and then the popular social networking website Facebook comes up with new features on its platform for its users. Keeping in view of the user’s privacy, last month the company rolled out Lock Your Profile settings on the social media website. Now Facebook has introduced another important update allowing users to delete their old posts, which they do not like or find embarrassing. Facebook has announced that soon the Manage Activity feature will be available for the users to blot out their old post, which they now regret posting then.
While announcing the feature the company said, “Whether you’re entering the job market after college or moving on from an old relationship, we know things change in people’s lives, and we want to make it easy for you to curate your presence on Facebook to more accurately reflect who you are today. That’s why we’re launching Manage Activity to help you archive or trash old posts, all in one place.”
You can easily find this particular option inside the “Go to Activity log” option. After which you can easily filter out your old posts according to category, date and people. For instance, you could archive a post you made when you were in high school that you still find amusing but that you’d rather not be seen by anyone else on Facebook.
According to the company, the archive feature is for the content you no longer want others to see on Facebook, but that you still want to keep for yourself. This feature also allows you to move your posts you no longer want to the trash. Those posts which you have a mode to trash will be available till 30 days before being deleted or else you can manually choose to delete or restore them before then, in case you change your mind about deleting old posts.
The Manage activity feature on Facebook allows you to manage your lots of old posts without having to take the pain of scrolling down to the end to delete a particular or lot of posts in bulk. This filter allows you to view and sort out the old post you have been looking for such as posts with specific people or from a specific date range.
According to the company, it will be initially available on mobile as well as Facebook Lite application. “Updated on June 2, 2020, at 1:52 PM PT to clarify that Manage Activity is available on Facebook Lite today.” the company stated. The feature will be rolled out later for the desktop platform confirmed by the company.
How to delete your old Facebook posts?
- Firstly login into your Facebook account
- Now go to your profile page, under your profile name you will find Go to the Activity log.
- Tap on that option and then click on Manage Posts
- Now you will see three options: Filter, Archives and Trash. Out of the three options tap on Filters
- Now you can filter out your posts as per category, date and people.
- Now delete posts or photos which you wanted to wipe out from your profile. But you cannot delete a post which has been posted by someone else. To remove it you can either untag yourself or simply request your friend to drop the post of photos.
For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date using the Gadget Bridge Android App.