Popular instant messaging app WhatsApp has started testing the group invitation control feature in Android, according to reports. As we have mentioned in our previous articles, the features enable users to decide who can add them to a group. Needless to say, it is a much-awaited feature as it gives users some level of control over being added to WhatsApp groups.
As of now, you would not be able to find it as it has been disabled by default and we should mention that it was first spotted in a beta code by WABetaInfo, a Twitter account that keeps a track of WhatsApp Beta updates. Although there is no word about when the feature will be made available, we guess it will take some time so that the bugs and glitches can be removed.
We should point out that the group invitation control feature that has been spotted in WhatsApp beta version 2.19.55, is the same as the one that iOS TestFlight users got some time back. The WhatsApp group invitation control feature is reported to be in early stages of development as of now and it wouldn’t even be available to all the members of WhatsApp’s Android beta programme.
📝 WhatsApp beta for Android 2.19.55: what's new?
Finally found first hidden tracks of the Group Invitation feature!
Screenshots in the article.
The feature is under development on iOS and Android.https://t.co/t6INQhghbS
— WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo) February 26, 2019
And currently, there is no word on when it will be made available to all the beta users of WhatsApp’s Android app, let alone to all users in general. We are personally not expecting to see the update anytime soon.
According to WABetaInfo, the group invitation feature can be accessed by going to Settings > Account > Privacy > Groups. Under Groups, you would be able to choose between three settings – Everyone, My Contacts, and Nobody. If you select ‘Everyone’ anyone on WhatsApp will be able to add you to groups, while ‘My Contacts’ would only let those in your phone’s contact list add you and ‘Nobody’ wouldn’t let anyone add you to group without their permission.
We should mention that if you select ‘Nobody’, people would be able to add you to groups, but only via an invite. So, if they try and add you, you will get an invite for the group and it is your choice to accept or reject it. Similarly, if you select ‘My Contacts’ people who are not in your friend list would be able to send you an invite to be a part of the group.