gadget-bridge
HomeComputersLaptopsHP Victus 16 2023 review: Perfect for work and gaming

HP Victus 16 2023 review: Perfect for work and gaming

There is a webcam at the top of the display, which comes with a resolution of 1080p. For privacy, a small switch has been provided which can be closed when not in use.

- Advertisement -

The HP Victus 16 has debuted in India recently. Its price starts at Rs 59,999, so the higher the configuration you get the more you will have to pay. This is the brand-new 2023 variant, and it comes in multiple configurations. Our unit, which is powered by an Intel Core i5 13500HX processor and an Nvidia GeForce RTX 4050 GPU, has been in use for more than a week. This device has a 16.1 FHD display, 32GB RAM, and Windows 11 Home already installed. Let’s see how it did in this HP Victus 16 2023 review.

HP Victus 16 2023 review: Design and Display

Let’s begin by discussing the build since we have been using it for more than a week. The laptop feels like a powerful laptop in the mid to high segment. It has sharp edges and a typical laptop-like appearance. It is also large in size. Now we did like the look of it, overall it is a good-looking gaming laptop. 

HP Victus 16 2023 review: Design and Display

You ask why? We liked the way it looked because it is a stylish gaming laptop. What really impressed us about it was its clean, minimalist design. It would fit in well if you brought this to work or any professional meeting.

- Advertisement -

Also Read: Asus TUF gaming F15 laptop review: 11 Gen Intel CPU with RTX 2050 under 60K, worth buying?

It features an elegant, mirror-coated V logo in the centre of the top, a Victus inscribed at the bottom, and text along the length of the body. The structure is fully made of plastic, but the top of the lid flexes a little. If you press down on it, you will notice a little flexing, but it’s nothing to worry about.

The laptop is available in the performance blue colour option, and its matte texture does a decent job of deterring fingerprints. However, it creates an unpleasant and somewhat unnerving screeching sound while lifting the display lid.

- Advertisement -

HP Victus 16 2023 review: Design and Display

It has a headphone jack, a USB connector, an RJ45 port, and vents on the left side. Now, be very patient and careful when placing your RJ45 cable because these things have a tendency to break over time. A power connector, an HDMI port, two USB Type-A ports, and a Type-C port that does not support Thunderbolt 4 are all located on the right side of the device.

Even though the entire device is composed of plastic, it is nonetheless somewhat weighty. Because the hinge on this is so tight, it is really challenging to open the lid with one hand even if you try. To open the lid, you must place your hand on the base and lift the lid up.

HP Victus 16 2023 review: Design and Display

The keyboard is so well-kept that it doesn’t even look similar to a gaming keyboard, which often has a tonne of stickers covering it. It is a full-size keyboard with a Numpad. Intake of air is made possible through vents at the top. The touchpad/trackpad is given is also made out of plastic.

HP Victus 16 2023 review: Design and Display

The HP Victus 16 sports an anti-glare 16.1-inch full-HD 165Hz IPS display with a resolution of 1,920 x 1,080 pixels. The screen’s refresh rate is 165Hz, and its response time is 7 ms. It has a brightness of 300 nits and 100% sRGB.

review of HP Victus 16 2023

An HP True Vision 1080p FHD camera with temporal noise reduction and built-in dual array digital microphones at the top of the display are further noteworthy features.

HP Victus 16 2023 review: Performance

The display’s side bezels are thin, the screen is barely reflective, and it has a beautiful appearance in terms of style. The display’s colour gamut and colour accuracy are both satisfactory. The screen is sufficiently bright. In our opinion, it is bright enough to be used indoors and outdoors as well.

review of HP Victus 16 2023

There is a webcam at the top of the display, which comes with a resolution of 1080p. For privacy, a small switch has been provided which can be closed when not in use. Also the the webcam is good enough if you intend to stream games using this laptop or do a Zoom call.

Additionally, the laptop has two speakers at the bottom, but they don’t sound could have been louder. Since there is no bass and only treble in the midrange, it simply doesn’t go that loud. On the flip side, this being a gaming laptop most of the buyers will use headphones and not speakers when gaming.

HP Victus 16 2023 review: Design and Display

The performance of this laptop is one of its main advantages. The 14 cores and 20 threads Intel Core i5 13500HX CPU that powers the HP Victus 16 are included. There are also 512 GB PCIe Gen4 NVMe TLC M.2 SSD and 16 GB DDR5-4800 MHz RAM available. It has an integrated GeForce RTX 4050 GPU from Nvidia, too.

Simple everyday tasks like online browsing and managing up to 40 Chrome tabs, are a breeze. If you purchase this with the intention of creating content, you will be glad to know that it functions as it should.

Also Read: Logitech M240 Silent Bluetooth Mouse Review: Replace your trackpad with this mouse

It can play AAA titles if you’re buying it solely for gaming, which we anticipate the majority of you will do. We played CS Go on high settings, and the performance was flawless. We have no concerns regarding the game’s performance. The gameplay in Call of Duty: Warzone 2 was incredibly fluid and worked well right out of the gate. While playing, a few dips or micro stutters occasionally appeared, but overall, the gameplay was generally good and acceptable for the price.

The temperatures on this laptop are also excellent. We played games all day long, and the keyboard never becomes uncomfortable or hot to touch.

review of HP Victus 16 2023

By the way below are the benchmark results:

Geekbench CPU benchmark

  • Single-Core Score: 1381
  • Multi-Core Score: 7851

GPU benchmark

  • OpenCL Score: 75173

review of HP Victus 16 2023

There is a key specifically for Omen Gaming Hub on the right side, next to the Delete button. In basic terms, it’s a single-stop gaming hub that lets you arrange and launch all of your games (including those from Steam, Epic, Xbox, and Live Pass). Additionally, it helps speed up network and memory operations to enhance your gaming experience. You may adjust the keyboard lighting from here. The model we used only enabled us to select a single colour from the RGB lighting. So you can choose from options like white, blue, pink, red, green, and more.

review of HP Victus 16 2023

You can change the fan speed in the OGH or switch to automatic mode. After the laptop has been idle for a bit, the fans are fairly quiet while using the Eco and Balance Modes. The fans become louder and faster when in Performance mode.

review of HP Victus 16 2023

 

However, because we feel the trackpad to be a bit small for our liking, we barely ever used it and you cannot use it for a longer period of time on this laptop. Typing on the keyboard was actually fairly comfortable. We were able to write quickly because of the excellent travel distance and the lovely, clicky sensation of the keys.

The HP Victus 16’s 83Wh battery has adequate runtime capabilities. We were able to get 6 to 7 hours of screen time with headphones activated, WiFi on and 50% brightness. While gaming we got around one to one and half hours of screen time when performance mode was on.

Verdict

Overall gaming performance is strong and essentially on par with other RTX 4050 laptops. Overall, the laptop can play any currently available game with a rather high FPS. We could not find any major flaws in our tested unit. Adjustable fans and lighting, really good display and gaming performance are only seen in higher-priced models.

It is a nice gaming device with amazing build quality, we loved the blue design, and it performs well too. The only complaint we have is that the laptop’s price could have been a little bit cheaper. You should also be aware that for this amount, you only receive 512GB of storage, which is somewhat limited. We have put the purchasing link below. The laptop costs approximately Rs 1 lakh 29 thousand for this configuration.

Buy it Here 

HP Victus 16 2023 Pros

  • Nvidia GeForce RTX 4050 GPU integrated
  • Beautiful display
  • Adjustable fans and lighting
  • Good gaming performance

HP Victus 16 2023 Cons

  • The price could be lower
  • 512GB of storage

For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date using the Gadget Bridge Android App. You can find the latest car and bike news here.

- Advertisement -

Support Us

We are a humble media site trying to survive! As you know we are not placing any article, even the feature stories behind any paywall or subscription model. Help us stay afloat, support with whatever you can!

Support us
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -

Follow Us

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -

Must Read

Amazon Great Indian Festival (GIF) to begin on October 8: Festive Sale details inside

Amazon Great Indian Festival (GIF) to begin on October 8: Festive...

0
Amazon has officially announced that its festive sale 'Great Indian Festival' will begin on October 8 offering sellers and partners a chance to connect...
- Advertisment -

REVIEW OVERVIEW

Design
Display
Performance
Cameras
Value for Money
Komila Singh
Komila Singhhttp://www.gadgetbridge.com
Komila is one of the most spirited tech writers at Gadget Bridge. Always up for a new challenge, she is an expert at dissecting technology and getting to its core. She loves to tinker with new mobile phones, tablets and headphones.
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -

1 COMMENT

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
The HP Victus 16 has debuted in India recently. Its price starts at Rs 59,999, so the higher the configuration you get the more you will have to pay. This is the brand-new 2023 variant, and it comes in multiple configurations. Our unit, which...HP Victus 16 2023 review: Perfect for work and gaming

You cannot copy content of this page