Google has released a new control dashboard, Memory Summary, to its Gemini platform. The tool enhances transparency by letting users know what the AI chatbot is familiar with about them, responding to the growing need for tailored interactions in conversational AI, such as user preferences and roles. Memory Summary turns background data into an editable management hub inside the application, giving users the ability to manage their data more effectively.
In This Article
What is Google Gemini Memory Summary?
The Memory Summary page is a rich summary that includes details, instructions and context that Gemini remembers from past conversations. This tool allows users to easily access particular data points that affect Gemini’s tone and responses, reducing the guesswork behind its adaptive features. Some of the key features available on this page are viewing user profiles and categories (about work context, preferences and routines). Direct Edit & Delete Controls for easy correction or removal of memories. Memory History Log: Logs the addition or update of details, providing an audit trail. Accessing memory history increases transparency and personalisation in user interactions.
Also Read: Dyson announced the bladeless Hot+Cool HF1 fan heater and Cool tower fan in India
How to Access Your Memory Summary in Gemini
You can view your remembered profile immediately in the web interface or in the Gemini mobile app:
Steps to navigate:
- Open Settings: Go to gemini.google.com or utilise the Gemini app and tap on the profile icon or side menu.
- Select Personal Intelligence: Navigate to the intelligence centre and click on Personal Intelligence.
- Open Memory Summary: Open Memory Summary to review, edit, or clear saved data points.
Privacy Safeguards and Availability
To address privacy concerns related to AI data retention, Google has ensured that Memory Summary data is only retained within personal Google Accounts. You can choose to erase your Memory Summary data manually or turn the service off entirely. This feature is available on Web, Android and iOS and is only for those with personal Google Accounts who are 18 years of age and above with Activity turned on. Importantly, this functionality is not supported for Work/School Workspace accounts and temporary chats. It also leaves users in control, with the option to add, update, remove specific items or turn off the Memory Summary function altogether.



