While Instagram is one of the most used social media platforms in the world, its messenger isn’t as highly rated as that of Facebook and other platforms. In order to get more people to use Instagram Messenger as the primary mode of communication, the social media platform has made several changes to its IM service. This includes incorporating Vanish Mode from Facebook Messenger. In this article, we explain what Vanish Mode on Instagram is, how you can use it, and when you should use it.
What is Vanish Mode on Instagram?
First rolled out for Facebook Messenger in 2020, Vanish Mode was later incorporated into Instagram Messenger as well. To put it simply, Vanish Mode is similar to Snapchat’s ephemeral messaging where the messages self-destruct after the chat has ended. Any message you send once Vanish Mode has been turned on will disappear as soon as it is read by the receiver.
Once Vanish Mode has been turned on, Instagram notifies both parties whenever either one of them takes a screenshot of the conversation. Another thing you need to know is that Vanish Mode cannot be used retroactively. Any messages you send before turning on Vanish Mode will stay in the chat unless you ‘unsend’ them. If the receiver takes a screenshot of those messages, you will not be notified.
How to use Vanish Mode?
Before you start using Vanish Mode, you need to make sure your Instagram Messenger is updated. If it isn’t updated, Instagram will prompt you to update Messenger as soon as you try turning on Vanish Mode. Vanish Mode cannot be used in group texts. On top of that, both parties must follow each other to make use of Vanish Mode. Here’s how you can enable it.
Step 1: Open the Instagram app and swipe right to the DM window.
Step 2: Open the conversation in which you want to use Vanish Mode.
Step 3: Scroll down to the very bottom of the conversation and swipe up.
Step 4: Drag and hold the screen until it says ‘Release to turn on vanish mode’.
Step 5: Release the screen to activate Vanish Mode. Once Vanish Mode is activated, the chat window will turn dark. If it doesn’t turn dark, it means that Vanish Mode failed to activate and you need to try again.
Swipe up and release again to disable Vanish Mode.
When should you use Vanish Mode?
Since most people like to keep a record of their conversations, using Vanish Mode at all times is certainly not ideal. However, it is a very useful feature for securing private conversations and making sure no one else can view them apart from the receiver. The message notifications you receive from chats that are in Vanish Mode do not contain the contents of the text. This comes in handy when you’re in public and do not want people around you to view any message that pops up on the screen.
Since you get notified any time someone takes a screenshot, the chances of your conversations getting ‘leaked’ are reduced as well. If you are sharing some sensitive information that you do not want anyone else other than the receiver to access, make sure you turn on Vanish Mode first.
Vanish Mode doesn’t just apply to texts. Any media, emojis, emojis, or voice notes you send in Vanish Mode get deleted as soon as they are viewed. A lot of people can take undue advantage of this feature, so make sure you report any inappropriate messages to Instagram. You can also unfollow or block them to keep them from using the Vanish Mode.