gadget-bridge
HomeMobilesWhat Happens When you Reset Network Settings on an Android smartphone?

What Happens When you Reset Network Settings on an Android smartphone?

We explain what parts of your smartphone are affected when you reset network settings.

- Advertisement -

Smartphone users are advised to reset network settings when they experience an issue with their WiFi, Bluetooth, or cellular network. Instead of intensively diagnosing the specific issue, performing a network reset restores the network setting on your smartphone back to their factory settings. It is a quick and easy way of regaining network functionality without wasting too much time patching the issue. Users often wonder what parts of their phone are affected by network settings reset, and if their data is at risk of deletion. So, in this article, we’ll explain what exactly happens when you reset network settings on an Android smartphone.

Read Also: How to turn your smartphone into a Smart TV remote

- Advertisement -

Table of Contents

Here’s what happens when you reset network settings on an Android Smartphone

Once you reset network settings on your Android smartphone, your WiFi, Bluetooth, and cellular settings will be reset to factory settings.

WiFi

- Advertisement -

wifi.

All the saved WiFi networks and passwords will be removed from your phone. You will have to manually connect to previously saved WiFi networks and re-enter the passwords.

Bluetooth

- Advertisement -

bluetooth. what happens when you reset network settings on android

All your Bluetooth connections will be removed as well. This includes all Bluetooth-paired devices such as speakers, headphones, Android Auto etc. Once the reset is performed, you will have to re-pair these devices to your smartphone.

VPN

vpn. what happens when you reset network settings on android

Your VPN settings will be reset as well. This includes the server name, password, local history, and preferences.

Cellular Services

cellular services.  what happens when you reset network settings on android

Your cellular network settings will be reset to default. You will have to select your preferred network type (2G, 3G, 4G) again. Cellular services like phone calls and SMS will not be affected.

Read Also: How to reset your Android smartphone before you sell it

You will not lose any personal data (photos, videos, contacts, files) from your smartphone on performing a network settings reset. Even your hotspot settings will remain unaffected. You can choose to reset network settings when you face any issue with the WiFi or cellular network. If you do not want to reset network settings, you can reboot your phone or turn the Airplane mode on and off.

For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date using the Gadget Bridge Android App. You can find the latest car and bike news here.

- Advertisement -

Support Us

We are a humble media site trying to survive! As you know we are not placing any article, even the feature stories behind any paywall or subscription model. Help us stay afloat, support with whatever you can!

- Advertisement -

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Follow Us

- Advertisement -

Must Read

HP Pavilion 31.5-inch and HP Envy 34-inch All-in-One (AiO) PCs with wireless charging support launched in India

HP Pavilion 31.5-inch and HP Envy 34-inch All-in-One (AiO) PCs with...

0
HP today unveiled a new line of all-in-one PCs in India. The HP Pavilion 31.5-inch and HP Envy 34-inch All-in-One (AiO) PCs were introduced....
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -