The Software tech giant Google has removed the Trusted Contacts app from the Google Play store as well as from Apple’s App Store. The withdrawn app was introduced in the year 2016 and was useful for those who wanted a keep track of their loved one’s device activity as well as location status with selected contacts. In addition to this, the company will also pull down its support for the app starting December 1.
While pulling the app from the App Store and Play store the tech giant said, “Over three years ago, we launched the Trusted Contacts app as a way to help people stay up-to-date with their loved ones’ whereabouts. Since then, we’ve built this functionality directly into Google Maps with Location Sharing – making it even easier to share your live location with trusted friends and family. As a result, the Trusted Contacts app will be removed from the App Store and Play Store today and will stop being supported after December 1, 2020. If the app is installed on your device, you can continue to use it until then. If you have created trusted contacts, you can download them from the trusted contacts page until December 1, 2020. After that date, the Trusted Contact app will no longer work and your trusted contacts will be unable to see the live location you are sharing with them from the app.”
As compared to Google Maps, Trusted Contacts is helpful at sharing the exact location of your kids or loved ones with the people added to the contacts when in case of emergency. While on the other hand Google Maps only shares real-time location but for this, you have to go for the constant tracking of your location being shared with other people also instead of some of the trusted contacts on your list. The company’s move to pull off the app is because it does not have a large user base and its popularity. And those who are already a user of the app have to find an alternative as the company is also ending support for the Trusted contacts starting December 1st.
The Trusted Contacts app allows you to add people to whom you want to share your whereabouts. When in crisis or emergency the friends or family members can get your status to know if you are safe and in response, you can share your location to help them reach you on time or else you can deny the request. When you do not respond within five minutes the app will automatically send your current location to the contact and if you go offline your last location will be shared.
To recall the app made a replacement for Google Latitude and Google+ Location Sharing that were also scrapped by the tech giant.
For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date using the Gadget Bridge Android App.