As per the latest report by TechCrunch, the instant messaging app owned by Facebook says they will now have access to some key features of the app it will “slowly ask” such users to comply with the new terms “in order to have full functionality of WhatsApp” starting May 15.
When the user still doesn’t accept their terms WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you won’t have the full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept. For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages from the app
In the note, WhatsApp linked to a newly created FAQ page that says its policy related to inactive users will apply after May 15. So basically if you choose to ignore the WhatsApp terms and conditions you would lose some key functionality. So either you give in or get your chats back up and simply migrate to another messaging app. And to get back to using the full features of the app you only have the option to accept its new privacy policies after May 15. And once the deadline is over your WhatApp account will no longer show the ‘ACCEPT’ button hence it will be inactive and the company will automatically delete it after 120 days.
“To maintain security, limit data retention, and protect the privacy of our users, WhatsApp accounts are generally deleted after 120 days of inactivity. Content stored locally on a user’s device prior to account deletion will remain until WhatsApp is deleted from the device. When a user reregisters for WhatsApp on the same device, their locally stored content will reappear.” WhatsApp wrote in an email to its merchant partners.
Furthermore, “In the coming weeks, we’ll display a banner in WhatsApp providing more information that people can read at their own pace. We’ve also included more information to try and address concerns we’re hearing. Eventually, we’ll start reminding people to review and accept these updates to keep using WhatsApp.”
However, the company still emphasizes that the personal messages will always be end-to-end encrypted by default and limited data might be captured by WhatsApp during business conversations but will be used only for development purposes.
The company also said, “We’ve seen some of our competitors try to get away with claiming they can’t see people’s messages — if an app doesn’t offer end-to-end encryption by default that means they can read your messages.”
For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date using the Gadget Bridge Android App.