HomeOther TechAppsNow you can easily avoid bumping into someone on Tinder: Here is...

Now you can easily avoid bumping into someone on Tinder: Here is how you can block your ex, relatives and colleagues on Tinder

The new Block Contact feature is now available in India 

The online dating application Tinder is now rolling out a very useful feature on its platform taking the edge of running into your ex, relatives and colleagues. The dating app has come up with the functionality to block them up by their contact number to avoid awkwardly swiping. 

We all know Tinder is an online dating app that allows you to swipe anonymously swipe to like or dislike other profiles based on their photos, a small bio, and common interests. So to avoid this unfortunate run-in during this year’s post-pandemic the platform has rolled out a new feature that allows members to block personal contacts in the app.

- Advertisement -

According to its survey Tinder has discovered that more than 40% of respondents have come across an ex-partner on a dating app. Another 24% have seen a family member or colleague, and one in ten have even encountered their professor’s profile. Awkward. Given the chance, 78% of those surveyed would prefer to not see, or be seen by, these connections on an app. So keeping these cumbersome situations in mind it has come up with the feature. As per the dating app, the new Block Contacts feature will give more control to its member over their experience with peace of mind by helping create a worry-free space for them to spark new connections. 

The Block Contacts feature on Tinder will be accessible within the profile setting from where the member will be able to enter their contact which they’d rather not see, or not be seen by, on the dating app. As per the company, if those contacts are already on Tinder or decide to download it later using the same contact info, they won’t appear as a potential match. This feature was initially tested in India, Korea and Japan, members who adopted the Block Contacts feature on Tinder added about a dozen contacts to their block list and now the feature is being rolled out globally. 

So if you choose to block a contact they won’t be notified that you blocked them and this will also not affect your existing matches or messages. However, if the contact info you use to block someone doesn’t match the info they used to sign up,  Tinder won’t be able to stop you from seeing each other.

The blog noted, “If you opt-in to the feature, we use your contact list so that you can quickly and easily select contacts you’d like to avoid on Tinder. Each time you visit Block Contacts, we’ll pull your list of contacts from your device so that you can pick who you would like to block. When you leave the feature, we’ll only keep the contact information for the people you have blocked (name, email and/or phone number). We’ll use this information to help prevent you from seeing your blocked contacts and from them seeing you (assuming they created an account with the same contact info you uploaded).”

How to block your contacts on Tinder?

First of all, you need to share the contact list from your device to Tinder and then you can block someone from your contacts. 

  • Launch the Tinder app on your device.
  • Now click on the profile icon
  • Go to Settings
  • In the settings now scroll down and select Block COntacts
  • Now allow Tinder to access your contacts
  • Under the “Contacts” tab, select people you want to avoid from your contact list 
  • Tap “Block Contacts”

It should also be noted that every time you use the feature the app will fetch your contact list from your device so that you can pick who you’d like to block. Whereas when you opt-out of the feature the dating app will only keep the contacts information for the people you have blocked (name, email and/or phone number). Considering your privacy we have also jotted down few more steps to block someone without sharing your whole contact list with Tinder. So here it goes:

How to manually add a contact and block on Tinder?

  • Follow the above mentioned first three steps
  • Now tap on the + icon at the top of the screen
  • Then add the person’s contact info and tap “Done”

For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date using the Gadget Bridge Android App.

- Advertisement -
Komila Singhhttp://www.gadgetbridge.com
Komila is one of the most spirited tech writers at Gadget Bridge. Always up for a new challenge, she is an expert at dissecting technology and getting to its core. She loves to tinker with new mobile phones, tablets and headphones.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Follow Us

119,407FansLike
8,924FollowersFollow
4,769FollowersFollow
5,090SubscribersSubscribe

Must Read

June 18 Amazon Quiz: Answer five easy questions to win Rs 25,000 Amazon Pay Balance

June 18 Amazon Quiz: Answer five easy questions to win Rs...

0
Amazon Quiz has gone live on its platform. The quiz timings are daily from 12 AM to 11:59 PM. By submitting correct answers, millions...
- Advertisement -