Home Other Tech Apps WhatsApp’s new self-destructing message feature: Everything there’s to know

WhatsApp’s new self-destructing message feature: Everything there’s to know

WhatsApp rolls out disappearing message beta for its Android users

In what appears to definitely be a trend, WhatsApp too will soon have the message disappearing feature rolled out to the masses. Currently available only to beta testers, this feature allows a user to decide if and when do they want messages to be automatically deleted. This way, the user gets to control how long does a message stay on their device.

Users can opt from time durations of an hour, a day, a month, a year or the option to disable this option. Currently named as the delete messages option, this feature is only available on group chats and can be controlled only by the user. For example, in the happenstance of a user choosing 1 hour, any message delivered on the group chat will be deleted automatically within one hour.

- Advertisement -

This feature is not the same as the delete message for all option on WhatsApp, where on deletion, a message saying “this message was deleted” comes up for all group members. This feature only works when used by the user and does not automatically delete messages like the disappearing message option is available to beta users currently.

The feature is basically a self-destruct button to increase user compatibility by clearing up messages on a group chat, which can occupy a lot of space. This feature saves time for the user who will otherwise have to delete messages manually. This self-destruct feature will provide more security to users who have data they don’t want to leave traces of on their phones or on the WhatsApp servers.

Another feature WhatsApp is working on is the dark mode feature. This feature will first be sampled by iOS users who are running iOS 13. Apple iPhone users will also soon get access to call waiting support, chat screen redesign etc.

It is not confirmed if the self-destructing, disappearing messages feature will be available to all users on iOS as well and if it will apply to private chats too.

This feature is rolling out months after the much appreciated “add to group” feature where users can control who can add them to groups is a step ahead towards customer privacy and safety by WhatsApp.

For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date using the Gadget Bridge Android App.

- Advertisement -
Achuuth Karthickhttps://www.gadgetbridge.com
The youngest member of Team Gadget Bridge, he is knowledgable and loves his laptop and mobile phone. He cannot stay without them. He loves to talk about new consumer gadgets and has a bright mind.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Follow Us

128,757FansLike
9,541FollowersFollow
4,881FollowersFollow
4,900SubscribersSubscribe

Must Read

Alpha 9 II

Sony launches the successor to the Alpha 9, Sony Alpha 9...

0
Sony announced the Alpha 9 II on December 5 in India. This model is the successor to Sony’s Alpha line-up’s Alpha 9. This camera...