HomeOther TechAppsHow to delete OTP messages from your Android smartphones after 24 hours?

How to delete OTP messages from your Android smartphones after 24 hours?

Here are some of the easy ways you can delete your OTP messages. Follow the guide.

OTP stands for One Time Password and as the name signifies ‘One time’ it is not important to save an OTP message. So, Google has recently introduced a feature to its messaging app that automatically deletes the OTP messages from your Android smartphones after 24 hours. The new feature will help maintain your inbox and free it from any clutter. Earlier, many would waste time manually deleting all the messages, now it can be done automatically. Read below to know more. 

The feature will be available on Android 8 and later devices, make sure you have the updates. Do remember the function is not on by default so you can always change the settings when you wish. You can go to your phone settings and make the changes to the message app settings. And for turning it off do the same. 

- Advertisement -

The steps to turn on the function of auto delete OTP messages are simple. First check if your Google message app on your Android smartphones is up to date. You can check this on the Play Store, if it has not been updated you should update the messaging app. Now when you open the messaging app on the top you will see three categories: Transaction, OTPs, Offers. Click on OTPs and from the pop-up page select Auto-delete OTPs>Continue. And if you want to turn off the Auto-delete function. Tap on the three-dot icon menu on the top>Settings>Message organisation>Toggle off Auto-delete OTPs after 24 hrs.

Read more: How to remove the news and interest widget from the Windows 10 taskbar?

Since different smartphones have different settings this is another way to turn on the Auto delete function. Open the Google message app on your Android smartphone and go to settings using the three-dot icon on the top right corner next to the search box. From the drop-down page scroll down to settings and click on it. For the next step, click on Message organisation. Now when the page opens up, toggle both Messages by category and Auto-delete OTPs after 24 hours. Now that you have enabled the option to auto delete your OTPs, the message will be deleted after 24 hours. And just in case if you want to turn off the auto-delete use the same step to go to Auto-delete OTPs and toggle it off.

Read also: Here is how to fix the Poco X2 camera crashing issue

For more information, the Google messages app uses a machine-learning algorithm that will sort your messages into personal, transactions, and OTPs. This will help in filtering all your messages on the app. Please note, the other messaging apps have also enabled the categorisation of the messages in the respective apps, but have not brought the Auto-delete of OTPs in 24 hrs features. Also, Google recently did add end-to-end encryption (E2EE) to the Google messages app, which is the first of its kind. 

For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date using the Gadget Bridge Android App.

- Advertisement -

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Follow Us

119,407FansLike
8,924FollowersFollow
4,766FollowersFollow
5,090SubscribersSubscribe

Must Read

Hisense Full-Array QLED TVs with up to 8K resolution launched in India

Hisense Full-Array QLED TVs with up to 8K resolution launched in...

0
The consumer electronics brand Hisense has announced the launch of the latest Full-Array QLED TVs in India today. The price of the new Hisense...
- Advertisement -