Microblogging social media app Twitter is testing a new feature that will now allow the user to sort out unnecessary messages from the Direct Message inbox. At present, the company permits the user to set their Direct Message inbox open to get messages from any person. Other than this it also allows scores of useless messages that consist of abusive posts. In order to solve this issue, the user can adjust their settings so that they can only send as well as receive the messages from who they follow.
As per a report, this feature will not work for everybody as some people like reporters need to have an open inbox with the intention of having private conversations and receiving tips. So twitter is now conducting a test in which the new feature will separate out unwanted messages together with disgusting content or else spam to a different tab.
The Message Requests section will now come with a button tab where the user will be able to access all the messages from the people they don’t follow as well as the recently filtered messages. To even read these messages the user would now have to click on the Show button that will keep them from pouring out unnecessary messages that sometimes arrive suddenly when the user leaves their inbox open.
The report says, “And even upon viewing this list of filtered messages, all the content itself isn’t immediately visible.”
If the user receives a message that is hateful the message preview will state that the message has been hidden in because it may contain offensive content. This feature will allow the user to make their mind up if they wish to unlock the message or else delete it. This will be helpful for those who want to keep their inbox open.
The new feature is identical to the Facebook messenger message requests feature that was released in 2017, where the user will only see the messages from the people they are friends with and the messages received from outsiders will be transported to a separate Message Requests region. The spam, as well as problematic posts, are relocated to another separate Filter section.
To recall last week Twitter was also found testing another new feature called Snooze that will allow its user to the mute notification within the app for a certain period of time. The snooze feature is being set as a bell symbol on the top right corner of the notifications tab. When the user taps the bell button the app will open a bottom sheet with Snooze duration options. Once the user chooses the preferred snooze duration, Twitter will stop sending push notifications for a particular time period.
For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date using the Gadget Bridge Android App.