WhatsApp users can now choose who can see their Profile Photo, About, and Last Seen status from their contact list. Improved privacy measures are being rolled out to WhatsApp users in large numbers. The privacy enhancements come only days after the business unveiled support for moving chats from an Android smartphone to an iPhone.
WhatsApp announced the implementation of advanced privacy controls on all its social media platforms. WhatsApp, users will be able to hide parts or all of their profile by selecting particular people from their address book. The features provide users greater control over their privacy settings on the messaging app, allowing them to decide who can see their last seen, about, and profile photo.
🔒 To further protect your privacy online, we’re rolling out new options to your privacy control settings 🔒
Now you can select who from your contact list can see your Profile Photo, About, and Last Seen status. For more information follow this link: https://t.co/UGMCx2n70h
— WhatsApp (@WhatsApp) June 15, 2022
The new privacy settings have also been changed in the messaging service’s frequently asked questions (FAQ) section on its website.
WhatsApp users who have connected contacts with whom they do not wish to reveal their personal information may benefit from the extensive privacy options. Earlier, the privacy settings for About, Last Seen, and Profile Photo on Android and iOS had three options: Everyone, My Contacts, and Nobody. To restrict their profile photo, last seen, and about from being revealed to certain users, users had to either delete a person from their contacts, block them, or adjust their visibility setting in the settings to “Nobody.”
My Contacts Except… has now been introduced as a fourth option, allowing users to pick particular contacts from their contact list and hide elements of their profile from them. Best part other people in the user’s contact list should be able to see their WhatsApp profile properly.
Control who sees your information by adjusting your privacy settings. You can set your last seen, profile photo, about, or status to the following options:
Everyone: Your last seen, profile photo, about, or status will be available to all WhatsApp users.
My Contacts: Your last seen, profile photo, about, or status will be available to your contacts from your address book only.
My Contacts Except…: Your last seen, profile photo, about, or status will be available to your contacts from your address book, except those you exclude.
Nobody: Your last seen, profile photo, about, or status won’t be available to anyone.
For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date using the Gadget Bridge Android App. You can find the latest car and bike news here.