If you’re someone who created a Twitter account for the sake of it and haven’t used it in a while, beware your account might be removed. Twitter has begun notifying users who have not logged in for more than 6 months. Account closures will not be happening overnight but over a period of many months.
This is to free username’s which are held by inactive users, which can be later given to new users who want a similar username. Make sure to log in soon, though it is not necessary that you have to make or retweet a tweet, signing in should be enough to prevent your Twitter account from being deleted.
The purge cleaning will begin on December 11 2019, continuing over a long period of time.
Twitter explains the purge as an effort to present accurate and credible information for users who depend on the data from Twitter. It also makes the app more user-friendly by saving time while looking for a specific user or tweet.
The downside of the purge will be for the deceased or those unable to login to their accounts and hence all of their activity on Twitter. Memorable posts will no longer be available if the account that made the tweet is deleted. This also might affect famous pages who have recently fallen into silence for at least over 6 months.
Twitter was recently in the news because of a malicious SDK that enabled hackers to access private user data, which can be given to third party organisations. Twitter however made a statement and said that affected users were informed and that they have increased security closing loopholes that may have caused this data breach.
For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date using the Gadget Bridge Android App.