Facebook offers its users different ways to curate their feeds. If you have a lot of friends on Facebook, you probably don’t want your feed to be flooded with posts from everyone you know. Instead, you can choose to exclude the posts you are not interested in seeing by simply unfollowing the poster. But does unfollowing someone on Facebook mean you can’t communicate with them anymore? Will you still be able to send them messages? In this article, we explain what exactly happens when you unfollow someone on Facebook.
Read Also: Best easy ways to Change Touchscreen Sensitivity on Android and iPhone
Here’s what happens when you unfollow someone on Facebook
Once you add someone to your friend list on Facebook, you automatically start following each other. Following someone lets you see their content on your feed. You can even choose to follow someone you are not friends with. This is helpful when you want to see updates from public figures like politicians, celebrities, or sports personalities.
Unfollowing someone on Facebook stops their posts from appearing on your newsfeed, even if you are still friends with them. Facebook doesn’t send a notification when you unfollow someone. You will continue being friends with them, you just won’t see their posts on your feed. This is an effective way of curating your feed to the content you want to see without taking anyone off your friend list.
You can still view the stories and posts of the person you’ve unfollowed by visiting their profile. You will also be able to send them messages and leave comments on their posts like before. If the person follows you, they will still be able to see your content on their newsfeed. Unfollowing someone on Facebook doesn’t make any mutual changes. If you want your posts to stop appearing on their feed, you can ‘restrict’ them.
Read Also: Everything about the brand new Vivo X90, Vivo X90 Pro, and Vivo X90 Pro+
Frequently Asked Questions
Will Facebook notify someone if I unfollow them?
No, Facebook does not notify a person when someone unfollows them. Similarly, they won’t be notified when someone from their friend list follows them again. However, if you follow someone who is not on your friend list, the person will be notified.
Will I still be able to send someone a message once I unfollow them?
Yes, you will be able to send the person a message and interact with their posts once you unfollow them. You can visit the person’s profile and view their stories and posts, leave a like or comment, and even send them a message.
How do I unfollow someone on Facebook?
In order to unfollow someone on Facebook, simply visit their profile and click on the ‘Following’ icon next to the ‘Friends’ icon. Click on ‘Unfollow’ and you will no longer see their updates on your feed.
How do I stop someone on Facebook from seeing my posts?
If you don’t want your posts to appear on someone’s newsfeed, you can either unfriend them or restrict their profile from the settings.
For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date using the Gadget Bridge Android App. You can find the latest car and bike news here.