Twitter is a popular social networking site where people communicate in small messages called tweets. It was developed by Jack Dorsey, Biz Stone and Evan Williams in 2006. Elon Musk is the current Chairman of Twitter and Linda Yaccarino is its current CEO. Twitter is used to share news, images, videos, etc. Twitter is also used for microblogging. However, with its recent changes, your Twitter settings may no longer allow DMs. Here is what we know about it:
Twitter has recently introduced us to its paid blue tick verification system known as Twitter Blue. Twitter Blue is available at different pricing in different countries. A user will get blue tick verification after paying for it and after getting verified by Twitter. This is seen as a desperate measure by Twitter to curb its negative cash flow.
Twitter’s desperate measure to increase Twitter Blue subscribers
To further promote Twitter Blue, Twitter has rolled out another feature. Twitter has changed the settings of users with open DMs blocking non-blue subscribers from messaging them. The tweet from the official account of Twitter read as follows: “Starting as soon as July 14th, we’re adding a new messages setting that should help reduce the number of spam messages in DMs. With the new setting enabled, messages from users who you follow will arrive in your primary inbox, and messages from verified users who you don’t follow will be sent to your message request inbox. Users who previously had their permissions set to allow message requests from everyone will be migrated to this new setting, but can switch back at any time.”
In its previous version, Twitter has given two options to its users. They can either allow everyone to DM them or only allow users who they follow to message/DM them. If the user only allowed DMs from users they followed others would not get an option of messaging them. However, with the new Twitter settings, every user will be able to see the DM button but after clicking on it non Twitter Blue subscribers will see a prompt asking them to subscribe to Twitter Blue to message.
Table of Contents
How you can change the new Twitter DM setting
In case your Twitter DM setting has changed too, here is a step-by-step guide on how you can change it back to default:
- Log in to your Twitter account and head to the messages option. It looks like an envelope.
2. Click on the settings option displayed in your primary inbox.
3. After opening settings, you can see the option of ‘control who can message you’. Choose the option that suits your requirements.
Twitter has made a significant impact on various fields and is one of the most popular social media applications. It is a powerful tool for sharing news, engaging audiences and mobilising communities. However, this new Twitter DM setting is facing a lot of backlash as is being seen as a marketing mechanism.
For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date using the Gadget Bridge Android App. You can find the latest car and bike news here.