Facebook is leading the graph of Social media apps and websites. The word Facebook has become synonymous with social media. However, if online privacy is your biggest concern and if you feel the need to delete your Facebook account the following steps will guide you. For those who want to disconnect from social media, Facebook has added two options to deactivate your account permanently or temporarily.
Note: There are differences between deleting a Facebook account and deactivating a Facebook account. When you deactivate your account you can retrieve your account when you want to. And deleting means you are permanently deleting it from the Facebook domain.
Deactivating your Facebook account:
When you deactivate your Facebook account people can not always see your timeline or search profile on FB. But the messages you have sent will still be seen by your FB friends. The advantage of just deleting your account and deleting it is that you have the option to deactivate your account. Now follow the steps to deactivate your Facebook.
- Open Facebook and log in with your username and password.
- Go to the top right corner and click the upside-down arrow.
- Press Settings and Privacy.
- Then tap on Settings.
- Now from the left side panel>Your Facebook information.
- Go to the right side window>Scroll down and go to Deactivation and Deletion.
- Select Deactivate account>Continue to account deactivation.
- Your Profile is not visible.
- But your Facebook Friends can see your name in their friend’s list.
- Your Posts and Comments will be visible to the Group admin with your Profile name.
- You can still use messenger from the Facebook messenger app.
- You can reactivate your account.
Deleting your Facebook account:
If you strongly decide to delete your account you will delete the account permanently. This means you completely wiping out all information and shared items on your Facebook. The deleting process can take up to 90 days after you have pressed the delete button. It is advised that before you decide to delete it permanently you should download your information from FB. You can do this in some steps: Upside down arrow>Settings and Privacy>Settings>Your Facebook information>Download your information>View. Now for the steps on deleting your Facebook account follow the guide below and delete your FB account permanently using the steps.
- Login to your Facebook account with your unique username/email and password.
- Now navigate to the top right corner from the homepage and click on the upside-down arrow.
- Now from the drop-down menu click on Setting & Privacy.
- From the menu select Settings.
- On the left column find Your Facebook information and click on it.
- Scroll down on the right column to Deactivation and Deletion.
- Now choose Permanently delete account>Continue to account deletion.
- Press Delete Account>Continue.
For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date using the Gadget Bridge Android App.