With 700 million monthly active users, Telegram is one of the most popular instant messengers in the world. Telegram grew in popularity due to its unique features like a group limit of 200,000 members, the ability to send attachments up to 2GB in size, and customisable bots for groups. If you use public Telegram groups, there is always a risk of receiving spam or inappropriate messages in your DMs. Luckily, blocking someone on Telegram is a very easy process. In this article, we show you how to block or unblock someone on Telegram.
Read Also: Boat Storm Pro Call smartwatch launched in India
How to block someone on Telegram
Step 1: Open the Telegram app and go to the chat thread of the contact you want to block.
Step 2: Click on their profile at the top of the screen.
Step 3: Click on the ellipses at the top right corner of the screen.
Step 4: Select ‘Block user’ and confirm it in the following dialogue box.
The contact will be added to your block list.
If you do not have a chat thread with the user, go to Settings>Privacy and Security>Blocked users and manually add them to the block list from your contacts.
How to unblock someone on Telegram
Step 1: Open the Telegram app and tap the hamburger menu at the top-right corner of the screen.
Step 2: Select Settings.
Step 3: Scroll down and select ‘Privacy and Security’.
Step 4: Tap on ‘Blocked users’.
Step 5: Click on the ellipses next to the profile of the contact you want to unblock and select ‘Unblock user’.
The user will be removed from your block list.
You can also directly unblock a user by clicking on their profile from the chat thread and selecting ‘Unblock’.
Read Also: How To Recover Permanently Deleted Files On Windows?
Frequently Asked Questions
What happens when I block someone on Telegram?
Blocking someone on Telegram removes the access they have to your profile. This means they won’t be able to send you messages, pictures, documents, and videos, and they will not be able to view your profile picture. Any message they send will not be delivered to you.
Does Telegram notify the user when you block them?
No, Telegram does not notify a user when they get blocked. They just won’t be able to see your profile picture and their messages will not be delivered to you.
Will a blocked user be able to see my messages in a Telegram group?
Yes, blocked users can see the messages you send in a Telegram group, but they won’t be able to send you direct messages.
For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date using the Gadget Bridge Android App. You can find the latest car and bike news here.