Facebook is the most widely used social media platform with around 2.6 billion monthly active users globally. Owing to its handy features to connect and share with the people and secure platform, Facebook has emerged as the face of social media in India as well as other countries.
Despite offering enormous socialising capabilities, some people may want to permanently delete their Facebook account. The reason for account deletion may vary from person to person. However, the company provides a straightforward method to permanently delete your account.
How permanent deletion affects your Facebook account?
When you delete your Facebook account, the data associated is also erased. Here is the list of things that will be affected by the account deletion.
- Once deleted, Facebook does not provide any provision to recover your account.
- The entire data associated with your profile like posts, comments and chats on your Facebook Messenger are erased permanently.
- Since your Facebook account will no longer exist, you will not be able to log into other websites using your deleted Facebook account.
- If you own an Oculus, you will not be able to use the deleted account to log into Oculus. Since your app purchases are erased, you will not be able to return any applications.
It must be noted that some data like messages sent to your friends may remain even after you delete your account. This is because the copy of the messages is saved in your friends’ inboxes.
How can you permanently delete your Facebook account?
To permanently delete your Facebook account, follow these steps.
- Open a web browser on your device and log into your Facebook account.
- Click the account down arrow button located on the top-right.
- Go to Settings & Privacy > Settings.
- Click the ‘Your Facebook Information’ option given on the side menu.
- Click Download Your Information. Choose the data that you want to download.
- Click Create File to create a file of your data in the desired format.
- Once the file is saved on your device, click ‘Delete Account’.
Can you cancel your account deletion?
You can cancel your account deletion within thirty days. To cancel your account deletion, follow these steps.
- Log in to your Facebook account within 30 days of your account deletion.
- Click Cancel Deletion.
After thirty days of your account deletion, you won’t be able to cancel the deletion process. Facebook usually takes up to ninety days to completely erase the data of your account. During the account deletion process, the data remains hidden to your friends and other Facebook users.
For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date with the Gadget Bridge Android App.