Home Other Tech Apps Google will now allow its users to auto delete their location history

Google will now allow its users to auto delete their location history

A new update will allow the users to do that

Google has rolled another new update for its Google Map App. The new feature launched by Google deletes the location history on the Google Map. The company has been pressurised by many users on social media platforms to improve its data collection policies and privacy. The tech giant has been criticised for holding on to user’s geolocation information in its server for an unspecified amount of time.

Google has announced in an official blog post that says, “Whether you’re looking for the latest news or the quickest driving route, we aim to make our products helpful for everyone. And when you turn on settings like Location History or Web & App Activity, the data can make Google products more useful for you—like recommending a restaurant that you might enjoy, or helping you pick up where you left off on a previous search. We work to keep your data private and secure, and we’ve heard your feedback that we need to provide simpler ways for you to manage or delete it.”

Last month the Tech Giant announced that soon it will be launching the auto delete tool for its app aimed at privacy purposes. The auto-delete feature in the Google map lets you set a time limit after which the app will automatically delete the location history and web history on your device. The new feature allows you to choose a time limit between 3 to 18 months. After you set the time limit Google will automatically delete the location history, web history and app activity.

To activate auto-delete feature all you have to do is head to your Google Account. Now go to My Activity section. Next tap on the new feature chooses to delete automatically option, select the time limit of your choice between 3 months or 18 months. Now the app will automatically delete all the location history that you searched older than the definite time period.

You should be careful about the settings that are not set by default. This will let Google collect and control all the data that has been saved on your phone. As we mentioned earlier the company announced the new rollout in may so currently the new rollout will take time to reach all the devices.

While announcing the new feature the company in its blog post also said, “You should always be able to manage your data in a way that works best for you–and we’re committed to giving you the best controls to make that happen.”

For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date using the Gadget Bridge Android App.

 

Loading...

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Follow Us

129,577FansLike
9,643FollowersFollow
4,819FollowersFollow
4,920SubscribersSubscribe

Must Read

Redmi Note 8 Pro

Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro and Redmi Note 8 launched in...

Manu Kumar Jain and his team have been doing a great job at creating all the buzz around the launch of the Xiaomi Redmi...