WhatsApp is testing a new Photos and Videos feature on its platform. The instant messaging service was spotted testing a new privacy feature in which the media received will disappear after it has been seen. The new privacy feature is called View Once and is being rolled out for specific beta testers.
As per a report by WABetaInfo, the feature was earlier called expiring media and now known as Video once. The feature known as WhatsApp view once is available on WhatsApp beta for Android 18.104.22.168. When turning on this feature the sent media which may include photos and videos can only be video once and will disappear from the chat after you dismiss the photo or the video.
This feature is similar to Snapchat which has this feature since its inception. The View Once feature is very different from the disappearing messages feature as messages of media disappear only after 24 hours. That feature was also introduced to WhatsApp in November last year.
However, the new privacy feature is being rolled out to Android only but for some of the beta testers. The activation for iOS beta testers will be following later. The report says those who didn’t join the beta program can only receive photos and videos set to view once.
Once the functionality goes live on the platform the users will see a view once button when sharing the media. When you send photos and videos using Whatsapp view once, they can only be viewed once, and you’re notified when the recipient has opened them.
When the receiver gets photos and videos with the view once enabled the media will disappear after they have been viewed or when you close it.
According to the report even if you have turned off the read receipt the recipient will still be notified or able to see whether you have opened the media set to view once or not but you will not see when the recipient opens yours. In the same ways in groups, you can see when other participants open expiring photos even if you have disabled read receipts.
Though the receiver cannot save the photos or videos, they might be able to take screenshots or video capture. In this case, WhatsApp won’t notify you because there isn’t screenshot detection so privacy is not guaranteed.
You can also share photos and videos set to view once in groups, and you can see who opened them in Message Info. But here is a loophole if you have blocked someone but they and you are a member of the same group can still open those photos and videos: in fact, they cannot message or call you but they can still interact with you in groups.
For the latest gadget and tech news, and gadget reviews, follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. For newest tech & gadget videos subscribe to our YouTube Channel. You can also stay up to date using the Gadget Bridge Android App.